New nomination procedure for the Danida Alumni Prize

Danida Alumni Prize
WHO Director-General Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus was the first alum to receive the prize. Photo: Danida Fellowship Centre / Jan Kjær

We have changed the procedure for nominating candidates for the annual Danida Alumni Prize. Instead of issuing an annual call, we now invite you to submit your nominations on a rolling basis. Due to the CORONA/Covid - 19 pandemic, the time and place for this year’s award ceremony will be communicated once the situation has stabilised.

This year we are planning to award the Danida Alumni Prize for the fourth time and have decided to change the nomination procedure. Instead of sending out a call for nominations, as we have done in previous years, we now invite our partners and alumni to submit their nominations on a rolling basis. Due to the CORONA/Covid - 19 epidemic the time and place for the award ceremony will be set at a later date.

Find the nomination form here and submit the completed form by email to

Who can nominate
Nominations will be accepted from anyone, who has gained meaningful insight into the nominee’s achievements, e.g. former and current Danida fellows, colleagues and employers, Danish embassy and Danida programme staff, Danida Fellowship Centre partners, universities and alumni, who wish to nominate themselves. We encourage everyone to consider potential candidates across gender and all age groups.

Danida Fellowship Centre will keep all the nominations on file. This includes all future nominations, along with those received in response to the three annual calls for nominations that have been announced since 2017. A committee at Danida Fellowship Centre will select the alum of the year from the pool of nominations and in line with a pre-defined theme.

Our distinguished Danida alumni
Across every continent, more than 24,000 former and current Danida fellows drive development and effect change in a wide range of sectors. The Danida Alumni Prize was inaugurated in 2017 to celebrate and encourage their work and achievements. WHO Director-General Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus was the first alum to receive the prize.

The Danida Alumni Prize is awarded annually to a Danida alum who, based on his or her Danida funded studies, has contributed to positive change in their home country or area of employment. Learn more about the three previous Danida Alumni Prize winners and the Danida Alumni Network.

Feel free to contact the DAN team for further information. Email:

December 07, 2021
This year Danida Fellowship Centre awarded Dr.
October 27, 2021
The Danida Alumni Prize 2021 is awarded to an alum who, based on his or her Danida-funded studies, has contributed to
September 02, 2021
We are pleased to announce a new call for Danida Alumni Activity Grants, allowing Danida Alumni to apply for financial…
August 11, 2021
My name is Ea Elsbøl and I have joined